Healthy gums

The cause

The cause for periodontal diseases is an adverse interaction between bacterial infection and immune defence. They are among the most frequent human diseases. Approx. 60 - 80% of adults suffer from gingivitis or periodontitis. The gums are inflamed and may be swollen. Between the teeth and along the gumline, the gums are already receding, pockets below the gumline begin to form due to gums separating from the teeth, the tooth necks are exposed, teeth are loosening, and the bone supporting the teeth is partially destroyed. The actual cause of marginal periodontitis, i.e. along the gumline, is bacteria in the gum pockets and on the root surfaces. The bacterial toxins destroy the tissue and lead to bone loss. Medicaments, smoking tobacco, hereditary factors and mental and physical stress accelerate progression of the disease. These types of inflammation are no unavoidable fate. Proper mouth hygiene along with professional attendance may prevent periodontitis. Existing diseases are usually curable (this actually applies to gingivitis only), in the case of periodontitis, the disease may at least be brought to a standstill.

For persons above 30 or 40 years of age, periodontitis is the most common cause of tooth loss and bad breath. In younger people, caries predominates. Recent research has shown that untreated periodontitis my increase the risk of heart disease and diabetes. Even premature births or low birth weight may be associated with periodontitis.

The goal

The treatment goal is the complete removal of bacterial plaque located on the tooth and root surfaces as well as in the gum pockets. This promotes the natural immune defence of the body. Through proper teeth cleaning, both hard and soft plaque as well as bacterial toxins are removed from the inflamed gum pockets without an operation, if possible. Plaque in the gum pockets and also heavy plaque have to be removed by a dentist or dental hygienist.

Regular check-ups for reinfection of the gum pockets and regular prophylaxis are an important precondition to keep your teeth free from inflammation as well as to repair and regenerate periodontal tissue. Use of an optimal rinsing solution effectively controls bacterial recolonization. Healthy teeth and healthy gums are not merely tools for eating and speaking but also our natural jewellery. It is no longer merely a great dream to keep them healthy far into old age.

  Tentan AG · Dellenbodenweg 8 · 4452 Itingen, Switzerland · Phone: +41(0)61 975 05 10 · Fax: +41(0)61 975 05 12 · info@tentan.ch · www.tentan.ch

Gesundes Zahnfleisch

Die Ursache

Die Ursache für Parodontalerkrankungen ist eine gestörte Wechselwirkung zwischen bakterieller Infektion und Immunabwehr. Sie gehören zu den häufigsten Krankheiten des Menschen. Etwa 60 - 80% der Erwachsenen sind an Gingivitis oder Parodontitis erkrankt. Das Zahnfleisch ist gerötet und teilweise geschwollen, zwischen den Zähnen und am Zahnfleischsaum ist es bereits zurückgegangen, es bilden sich Zahnfleischtaschen durch Ablösung des Zahnfleisches vom Zahn, die Zahnhälse liegen frei, Zähne sind gelockert, der knöcherne Unterbau ist zum Teil verloren. Die eigentlichen Verursacher der marginalen Parodontitis, d.h. am Zahnfleischsaum sind Bakterien in den Zahnfleischtaschen und auf den Wurzeloberflächen. Die Bakteriengifte führen zur Zerstörung des Gewebes und zu Knochenabbau. Medikamente, das Tabakrauchen, eine erbliche Vorbelastung und psychischer und physischer Stress beschleunigen den Fortschritt der Erkrankung. Diese Entzündungen sind nicht schicksalhaft. Eine richtige Mundhygiene, ergänzt durch eine professionelle Betreuung, kann der Entstehung von Parodontitis vorbeugen. Bestehende Erkrankungen sind meist heilbar (gilt eigentlich nur für Gingivitis), bei Parodontitis ist zumindest ein Stillstand der Erkrankung möglich.

Bei über 30 - 40 jährigen ist Parodontitis nicht nur die häufigste Ursache für Zahnverlust und Mundgeruch. In jüngeren Jahren überwiegt noch die Karies. Neuere Untersuchungen zeigen aber auch, dass eine unbehandelte Parodontitis das Risiko für Herzerkrankungen und Diabetes erhöhen kann. Sogar Frühgeburten und ein niedriges Geburtsgewicht können mit einer Parodontitis zusammenhängen.

Das Ziel

Ziel einer Behandlung ist die vollständige Beseitigung der bakteriellen Ablagerungen, die sich auf den Zahn- und Wurzeloberflächen sowie in den Zahnfleischtaschen befinden. Dadurch wird die natürliche Immunabwehr unterstützt und es werden harte und weiche Ablagerungen sowie Bakteriengifte aus den entzündeten Zahnfleischtaschen möglichst ohne Operation durch richtige Zahnreinigung entfernt. Beläge in den Zahnfleischtaschen sowie bei starken Ablagerungen müssen mit einer Behandlung durch den Zahnarzt oder die Dentalhygienikerin entfernt werden.

Eine regelmässige Kontrolle auf Reinfektion der Taschen sowie rechtzeitig wiederkehrende Prophylaxe sind eine wichtige Vorbedingung der Erhaltung von Entzündungsfreiheit, Reparatur und parodontaler Geweberegeneration. Die bakterielle Wiederbesiedlung lässt sich effektiv durch die Verwendung einer optimalen Spüllösung kontrollieren. Gesunde Zähne und gesundes Zahnfleisch sind nicht nur Gebrauchswerkzeuge zum Essen und Sprechen, sondern auch unser natürlicher Schmuck. Sie bis ins hohe Alter gesund zu halten, ist heute kein Wunschtraum mehr.

  Tentan AG · Dellenbodenweg 8 · 4452 Itingen · Tel. +41(0)61 975 05 10 · Fax +41(0)61 975 05 12 · info@tentan.ch · www.tentan.ch